Skip to product information
1 of 1

Studio One - Soul Jazz Records

Studio One Rockers

Studio One Rockers

Regular price 170,00 lei RON
Regular price Sale price 170,00 lei RON
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Mint 2020 (2xLP + Download Code)

  • 1. Sound Dimension – Real Rock

  • 2. Marcia Griffiths – Feel Like Jumping

  • 3. Freddy Mcgregor – Bobby Babylon

  • 4. Horace Andy – Skylarking

  • 5. Lennie Hibbert – Village Soul

  • 6. Brentford All-Stars – Greedy G

  • 7. Johnny Osbourne – Truth And Rights

  • 8. Ernest Ranglin – Surfin

  • 9. Michigan & Smiley – Eye Of Danger

  • 10. Dawn Penn – No, No, No

  • 11. The Skatalites – Phoenix City

  • 12. Prince Jazzbo – Crabwalking

  • 13. Jackie Mittoo – Hot Milk

  • 14. Lone Ranger – Badder Dan Dem

  • 15. Cedric Brooks – Ethiopia

Studio One Rockers features many legendary Studio One tracks brought together for the first time by Soul Jazz Records. From the beginning of Reggae, when the Skatalites developed a new sound of Ska in 1962 up until today, Studio One has been the number one innovator in Jamaican music.

Included in this compilation are classic Ska tracks ("Phoenix City"), Rocksteady ("Feel Like Jumping"), Roots music ("Truth and Rights"), Dancehall (Freddy McGregor, Michigan and Smiley) and many more.
Featured here are many of the classic tracks from Studio One. From Dawn Penn's legendary "No, No, No" to classics such as Horace Andy's "Skylarking" and Marcia Griffith's "Feel Like Jumping".

The Coxsone Soundsystem in the early 60s was one of the three main soundsystems operating in Jamaica alongside his competitors, Prince Buster and Duke Reid. The Studio One catalogue is possibly the largest in Jamaican music and this release is the first in a series of Studio One compilations on Soul Jazz Records.

View full details