Skip to product information
1 of 1

Studio One - Soul Jazz Records

Studio One - Rude Boy (RSD 2024 Edition)

Studio One - Rude Boy (RSD 2024 Edition)

Regular price 175,00 lei RON
Regular price Sale price 175,00 lei RON
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Mint 2024 (2xLP)

  • 1. Jackie Opel – You're Too Bad

  • 2. Johnny Osbourne – Murderer

  • 3. John Holt – Hooligan

  • 4. Keith McCarthy – Everybody Rude Now

  • 5. Owen Gray – Ballistic Affair

  • 6. Roy Richards – Get Smart

  • 7. Dillinger – Stop The War

  • 8. Jim Brown – Love In The Dance

  • 9. Desmond Baker And The Clarendonians – Rude Boy Gone A Jail

  • 10. The Wailers – Good Good Rudie

  • 11. Dennis Brown – Make It Easy On Yourself

  • 12. Wailing Souls – Don't Fight It

  • 13. Dub Specialist – Peace Theme

  • 14. Mr Foundation – See Them A Come

  • 15. Dudley Sibley – Run Boy Run

  • 16. Dennis Brown – Johnny Too Bad

  • 17. Bob Andy – Crime Don't Pay

  • 18. Soul Brothers – Mr Kiss A Bang Bang

      From the early days of Bob Marley and The Wailers (whose striking sharp-suited Rude Boy style appears on the front cover) through to the classic 1970s Jamaican films ‘The Harder They Come’ and ‘Rockers’, Rude Boys have been synonymous with Jamaican Reggae culture.

      This Jamaican Rude Boy anti-establishment attitude and stylish attire was later adopted by bands such as The Clash (in the film Rude Boy) as well as The Specials, Madness, Selector and others in the Two-Tone era that swept across the UK at the end of the 1970s.

      The album features classic tracks from Studio One featuring Jamaica’s finest singers and groups such as The Wailers, John Holt, the Wailing Souls and Dennis Brown alongside super-rare hard-to-find tracks from artists such as Mr Foundation, Dudley Sibley and Jim Brown.

      Driving Ska and Rocksteady rhythms, classic singers, killer horn lines, great Rude Boy themed-songs, all recorded under Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd’s supervision at the legendary Studio One.

      View full details