Skip to product information
1 of 1

Studio One - Soul Jazz Records

Studio One Women - 18th Anniversary Special Editions

Studio One Women - 18th Anniversary Special Editions

Regular price 170,00 lei RON
Regular price Sale price 170,00 lei RON
Sale Sold out
Tax included.

Mint 2022 (2xLP + Download Code)

  • 1. Claudette Mclean – Give Love Another Try

  • 2. Jennifer Lara – My Man

  • 3. The Soulettes – A Deh Pon Dem

  • 4. Della Humphrey – Dream Land

  • 5. Jennifer Lara – Consider Me

  • 6. Denise Darlington – War No Right

  • 7. Hortense Ellis – I'm Just A Girl

  • 8. Angela Prince – No Bother With No Fuss

  • 9. Jerry Jones – There's A Chance For Me

  • 10. The Soulettes – King Street

  • 11. Jennifer Lara – Tell Me Where

  • 12. The Tonettes – I'll Give It To You

  • 13. Marcia Griffiths – Tell Me Now

  • 14. The Jay Tees – Come to me

  • 15. Angela Prince – You A Fool Boy

  • 16. Jennifer Lara – I am In love

Ska, rocksteady, funky reggae, roots, dub mixes, disco mixes, they're all here from the queens of the Jamaican music scene - Studio One Women features a wide mix of classics and obscurities from the finest female voices in reggae.

Until now most of these tracks have only ever been available as extremely hard to find Jamaican 7 inch and 12 inch singles and even if you were lucky enough to find them they'd cost you a small fortune

Marcia Griffiths and Rita Marley (here with her first group The Soulettes, whose iconic image features on the cover) are two of Jamaica's most famous female singers hugely popular today. Both these artists became internationally famous as The I – Threes (along with Judy Mowatt), Bob Marley's backing singers alongside The Wailers. Also featured are Hortense Ellis, sister of Alton who cut many smash hits on the island, and Jennifer Lara, a lady who had a long career with Studio One, singing on countless sides.

View full details